Days 12 & 13

Fit Fam,

Day 12 was the last day of the work week for me, and I was ecstatic! I was looking forward to a weekend spend with Clayton doing NOTHING! I started the day off with the usual. Spark, catalyst, and my vitamins!  I did not like having the meal replacement shake for breakfast like the day before. I didn’t have any solid food in my system before my workout, and it didn’t make me feel good. Instead,  I ate some home made oats, egg, and an apple. I drank my meal replacement shake after workout for lunch. This was helpful, because I had time to clean up the apartment instead of taking time to meal prep. The shake was easy and filled me up!

I went to the Dollar Tree today, because I actually had time to do so. We just got freezers in the one I work at. I see a lot of unhealthy items come across my scanner. However, I do see some good things. One is big bags of frozen fruits and veggies! I picked some up in addition to a new water bottle and Tupperware container. If you have the patience, I recommend visiting the Dollar Tree. I bought some school supplies I needed for the upcoming year and spent hardly nothing earlier this week!

IMG_6331

Clayton made me dinner tonight, so I didn’t have to pack something to take to work. It was so YUMMY! We had some turkey burgers and sweet potato fries in the freezer that have made their way to the bottom. I found them when I was organizing the freezer. We topped the burger with melted provolone cheese, mustard and ketchup. We used lettuce slices as a bun instead of adding in the extra carbs. We had sweet potato fries and mixed veggies for our sides. I thought I was out to eat at a restaurant cheating on my diet. It was a great feeling knowing I had just ate something that I could eat again without feeling guilty! I was full almost all night at work. On my break, I ate some almonds to keep me from craving! When I got home, I was wanting some PB. I got a rice cake out of the pantry topped it with some PB and drank a small glass of almond milk!

IMG_6333

IMG_6337

Today was Pull Day in the gym, and it was a workout I will do again. I was feeling it the next day in all areas of my back. This challenge has helped me learn to make my own workouts. With the help of Clayton, I am not knowledgeable enough to make myself a workout that challenges me!

  • Deadlift 4×10
  • Flys 4×10
  • 25 crunches
  • Bent Over Row 3×10
  • Lat Pull 3×10
  • 15 Hanging Tucks
  • Straight Bar Curl 3×10
  • Hammer Curl 3×10
  • 50 Mountain Climbers
  • Cable Curls 3×10
  • Zottman Curls 3×10
  • 25 crunchy frogs
  • Shrugs 3×10
  • Trap Raises
  • 1 minute plank

 

 

Day 13 was such a wonderful day. It was a rainy day, but Clayton and I spent some much needed time together.  I took off from the gym today to let my body rest. Yesterday’s workout left me very sore this morning. I plan on stretching and doing some long distance cardio tomorrow when it stops raining.

I did not get up at my usual time today. I let me body wake up when it was ready, which was 10:30! I haven’t slept that late in weeks. We got up, and I took my max phase vitamins, and Fruit Punch Spark. It is incredible how my mood changes in the morning after I have my glass of Spark.

30 minutes later it was breakfast time. Organic whole wheat cereal with stevia and some eggs. I didn’t have a fruit this morning at breakfast which is why we went to our local farmer’s market. They had great deals and we left with a weeks supply of fruits and veggies for about 10 dollars total! After we left, we washed some apples and ate them for a snack!

IMG_6342

IMG_6343

IMG_6346

One of my favorite places to go is TjMaxx. It used to be for the clothes…. well it still is, but now I always make it a point to check out the gourmet food section. Today, we found two shakers for 2.99 a piece,  Organic BBQ roasted peanuts, Organic Brown Rice Chips, and some Veggie Chips!

One of our favorite things to do together is to visit different thrift stores and flea markets. I found some great items today! My plan after college is to be a secondary science teacher, so I am always on the lookout for educational items I could use! I found a stapler and tape dispenser shaped like tigers and a microscope, and I HAD to buy them! I also found some great science books that I have been reading all afternoon!

IMG_6345

IMG_6344

After a long morning of shopping, we were itching to get back for a yummy lunch. We went to Walmart to do our weekly shopping. We picked up some more Jalapeno Turkey Burgers and ate them for lunch with some carrot and spinach and artichoke hummus! The other night I felt like I had just had a cheat meal, because my turkey burger and sweet potato fries were THAT good!

For dinner, we had Mexican! That is two weekends in a row! I bought these low carb whole wheat tortillas last week. When I normally eat Mexican, I always want a taco salad. I thought it would be cool to somehow make one myself without the fried shell. I pulled out one of my glass Pyrex bowls and put the tortilla inside it. It naturally formed a salad bowl shape.  I baked it in the oven for 10-12 minutes on 400 degrees! I filled it with grilled chicken, shredded lettuce, 2 tbsp of low-fat sour cream, and a sprinkle of cheese. I topped it with some fresh salsa! On the side, I set aside a serving of my organic brown rice chips and a little salsa. I got my Mexican fit, and I did not ruin my diet!

IMG_6352

After dinner, we took a walk around campus to enjoy the nice cool weather. This walk worked up a sweet tooth. It must be something about Saturdays, because we always get cravings for something sweet. I was doing research earlier on recipes for healthy desserts. I came across one that I knew he would love. We  sliced up a banana and put it in the freezer before dinner. We got the blender out and put the frozen banana, 1 cup of almond milk, and 1 tbsp of natural peanut butter and blended it up. It was a little runny at first, so we let it sit in the freezer for about 20 minutes to thicken. We took it out and topped it with 1 tbsp of dark chocolate chips and enjoyed some True Blood episodes! It was a wonderful way to end this eventful day!

IMG_6353

-Brittany

 

2 thoughts on “Days 12 & 13

  1. That turkey burger looked so good! You are doing a great job and it is so encouraging to me. Love your Blog!

Leave a comment